Regency Novels: The Real and the Imitation

Jane Austen’s 6 novels were all published during the period known as the Regency, when George Prince of Wales (later King George IV) ruled Britain in the place of his father, King George III. The Regency lasted only from 1811 to 1820, but was an era of social change, unrest, elegance and artistry. 200 years later, we still love to read Regency novels. It was Georgette Heyer who created the Regency genre of historical fiction and her witty, romantic comedies have never been out of print. This course explores aspects of the Regency – its ballrooms and its adulterers, its runaway marriages and its card parties, its rakes, its heroes and its enchanting heroines, in the fiction of Jane Austen and Georgette Heyer.

Course Tutor
Susannah Fullerton

Supplied Course Material
Jennifer Kloester, Georgette Heyer’s Regency World
Susannah Fullerton, Jane Austen and Crime
Course Booklet

Units & Pricing
6 units / $78 per person

Course Code for Enrolment

Getting Started

  1. Start your Group: Anyone can start a Discussion Group – seek out some like-minded friends or put up a notice in your local library, bookshop or workplace. Please note a minimum of 6 people is required to start a new discussion group.
  2. Arrange the Meetings: New groups need to decide where and when to meet, and for how long – whatever best suits members' particular situations.
  3. Run your Group: Choose a secretary to liaise with WEA and your tutor, a Discussion Leader to chair meetings, a reporter to take discussion notes to send to your tutor, and maybe a librarian to look after the books.
  4. Start the Course: Contact WEA Sydney to enrol. Bookings can be made for one year, divided into two terms – Term 1 commences in February, Term 2 in July (Groups may make forward bookings for popular choices). Please indicate in what order your Group wishes to study the courses, if more than one course is booked.

Please note that additional postage (Cash on Delivery) for receiving course material will be required.