Prize Winning Literature | WEA Sydney

Thanks for adding:

Proceed to Checkout

Continue browsing


Print this page Prize Winning Literature

Available Classes

The books of this course offer insights into the best literature from three major English speaking countries, and they allow us to play the role of judge and jury in determining their prize winning qualities. Thus the course will not only examine the qualities of the winning books but it will also see to what extent each fulfils the requirements of its particular prize.


Course Author: Allison Haliday

Course Code: D135

Supplied Material: Course Booklet

  • Pat Barker, The Ghost Road (1995) - Booker Prize
  • Gillian Mears, The Mint Lawn (1990) - Vogel Award
  • Tim Winton, Cloud Street (1992) - Miles Franklin
  • Frank McCourt, Angela’s Ashes (1996) - Pulitzer Prize
  • David Malouf, Remembering Babylon (1996) - IMPAC Award

Units & Pricing: 5 units / $68 per person


Start your Group: Anyone can start a Discussion Group – seek out some like-minded friends or put up a notice in your local library, bookshop or workplace. Please note a minimum of 6 people is required to start a new discussion group.

Arrange the Meetings: New groups need to decide where and when to meet, and for how long – whatever best suits members' particular situations.

Run your Group: Choose a secretary to liaise with WEA and your tutor, a Discussion Leader to chair meetings, a reporter to take discussion notes to send to your tutor, and maybe a librarian to look after the books.

Start the Course: Contact WEA Sydney to enrol. Bookings can be made for one year, divided into two terms – Term 1 commences in February, Term 2 in July (Groups may make forward bookings for popular choices). Please indicate in what order your Group wishes to study the courses, if more than one course is booked.