Information for Students

Information for Students

Unsure on what to enrol into? Download our Latest Catalogue and browse the selection we have on offer, or use the search option in the top right corner to find a course.

Anyone 18 years old and above can enrol into our courses, there are no special qualifications or knowledge required for any course unless specified in the course description and there are no exams.

Please ensure you enrol into your chosen course at least 7 days prior to it starting.


Term Dates

Winter 2018 - 23rd July to 28th September

Spring 2018
Holiday Program: Monday 24th September – Friday 5th October
Spring Term: Monday 8th October – Friday 14th December

Summer 2019
Holiday Program: Monday 14th Jan – Friday 25th January
Summer Term: Tuesday 29th January – Friday 5th April

Autumn 2019
Holiday Program: Monday 8th April – Friday 26th April
Autumn Term: Monday 29th April – Friday 5th July

Winter 2019
Holiday Program: Monday 8th July – Friday 19th July
Winter Term: Monday 22nd July – Friday 27th September

Spring 2019
Holiday Program: Monday 30th September – Friday 11th October
Spring Term: Monday 14th October – Friday 19th December

Public Holidays for 2019:

  • Australia Day: Monday January 28th
  • Easter: Friday April 19th – Monday 22th
  • Anzac Day: Tuesday April 25th
  • Queen’s Birthday: Monday June 10th
  • Labour Day: Monday October 7th



Payment Details

WEA Sydney accepts all major credit cards (Amex/MasterCard/Visa), as well as cash & cheque. Cash enrolments in person can only be processed on the first floor reception.

If you are enrolling by phone, please make sure you have your credit card & concession card details ready. All phone enrolments include a non-refundable $3 phone priority enrolment fee per person.

If you intend to send in cash or cheque via the post, you can download a copy of our Enrolment Form and post it to this address:

WEA Sydney
72 Bathurst Street
Sydney NSW 2000

If you are enrolling as a business, please contact us via phone or email only – do not enrol online so we can arrange the invoice to be created for you. (e.g. if you require it for tax purposes)


Course Discounts

Course discounts where applicable are listed in our course guide and on the website. Concessions are available to the following;

  • Aged pensioners
  • Members of Affiliated Organisations:
    1. Retired Teachers Association (NSW Branch)
    2. Shop, Distributive and Allied Employees Association (NSW Branch)
    3. Sydney Mechanical School of Arts
    4. The Independent Education Union
    5. The NSW Teachers Federation
    6. Transport Workers Union of NSW
  • Seniors card holders
  • Social security beneficiaries:
    1. Full-time students
    2. Jobseekers
    3. People with disability
    4. Sole parents
    5. Veterans

For online discount claims, you must select the correct concession type during the summary page when you have proceeded to the checkout. If you have enrolled into a course via the website without claiming your concession (if applicable), you will not be able to claim a reimbursement or concession for the enrolled classes.

Applications for reduction of fees on the grounds of hardship will be considered. These need to be made in person to the executive officer and will be treated in the strictest confidence.


Enrolment Confirmation

An enrolment confirmation, payment receipt and invoice will be sent to you via email when you enrol with a further email sent to you 48 hours prior to your class starting. Please ensure you check the website for any further details (e.g. Art Classes: a list of materials needed may be present) of your course.

By enrolling into a WEA Sydney course, students agree to abide by a series of basic rights and responsibilities. These are outlined in the WEA Sydney Student Handbook, under the heading WEA Sydney Student Code of Conduct. You can download a copy of the WEA Student Handbook via this link: WEA Sydney Student Handbook